L and L in Thailand

When my parents initially told me that they wanted to come visit Caroline and I in Thailand I was surprised. I didn’t think my parents would want to spend 20 plus hours on a plane to endure intense heat and humidity. I did not think that they would want to spend their vacation in a place where things are foreign, very different and would surely push them out of their comfort zone. My parents continued to surprise me with their curiosity and open-mindedness. They dove right in to the hectic markets, the sometimes too spicy food and highway motorbiking. And it was “just…so…hot!” L and L not only came to Thailand, but rocked it- making the most of their experiences.

We did a whirlwind tour of the country we called home for 6 months. Starting with sightseeing in Chiang Rai. Then catching sawng tows and getting outdoorsy in Chiang Mai in the north. We snorkeled and motorbiked around the island of Samui and even had a bit of adventure in Bangkok. One of the highlights of the trip was our visit to an Elephant camp that works with rescued elephants. We took part in the care program where we were able to play with young elephants all day, one as young as 2 years old. We were able to interact in a kind and nurturing way with these elephants. We got a chance to feed them sugarcane and bathe them. Everyone had huge smiles on their faces the whole time. It is an experience hat makes you feel warm fuzzies on the inside. The best part was when two of the juvenile males started play fighting one another in the water. They ending up both laying in the water on their sides and kicking each other’s legs. Many of my fights with my younger brother Sam seem to have ended this way, humans and elephants aren’t so different afterall.

Seeing Thailand through my parents eyes was very refreshing. It reminded me of how Caroline and I felt and thought when we first arrived. They noticed many things that I hadn’t or began to take for granted. How kind the people are and how hard farmers work. My parents were both so curious about the history of Thailand and Buddhism in Thailand, particulary my Mom. They enjoyed visiting all of the temples. One of the things my dad noticed were the women who seemed to be very masculine. “Dad, that’s a ladyboy.” Caroline then generously offered to help Dad navigate the world of ladyboys. My Dad would ask, “Is that woman over there a ladyboy?”, and they would have an in depth discussion about transgender people and the ladyboy culture in southeast Asia. We were so excited to share our knowledge with them and have them come to appreciate some of the things we have grown to love. I feel so lucky to have been able to share what Caroline and I know of Thailand with my parents. Having the adventure of a lifetime is fantastic, but its even better when you can share it with those you love.

Leave a comment